ThePerfectDog.com Review

November 20th, 2008 by Paul Johnson

I recently started seeing a T.V commercial for Don Sullivan’s The Perfect Dog: Secrets to Training the Perfect Dog. The official site is at ThePerfectDog.com or Thane.com. He also calls himself the “The Dog Father”. I admit I was a bit skeptical at first, but they had a 30 day moneyback guarantee, so I thought I would try it out.

The PerfectDog.com package comes with 2 training DVDs, Don Sullivan’s personally trademarked collar the Command Collar, and his Freedom Training Lines leashes. Don Sullivan also sales some other products at theperfectdog.com , but they aren’t included in the 60 dollar package. His 2 DVDs covers many topics, but not with enough depth I thought. There were a few helpful things in the DVDs, but most of it was just basic techniques or things I’m not sure are even the best approach to dog training. I have serious reservations about his training philosophy. He doesn’t believe in using dog treats and rewarding your dog. I don’t know where this idea came from because I and many other dog owners have had success training our dogs using treats. Dogs should be rewarded for knowing that they are doing a job well done. Another thing I don’t like about the perfect dog package is there is no book that comes along with the DVDs. It would be nice to be able to at any time sit down and look up something, without the huge hassle of having to load up your computer or DVD player and search for it.

Overall, The perfect dog system is a bit of a disappointment so I can’t give it a good review. I would recommend you just save your $60 dollars if you are thinking of buying it. I don’t think it was really worth the price. Instead I recommend a much more effective and cheaper training guide from the popular Secrets to Dog Training e-book guide. I’ve had the Secrets to Dog training book for a while and found it very helpful. I’ve never really seen any negative reviews with it like I do all the time with The perfect Dog system.

  1. Mike on November 23rd, 2008

    I’m always skeptical of anything sold on a infomercial like theperfectdog.com. I bought the Secrets to Dog Training ebook months ago because it was getting good reviews and I found it very helpful. I know some people think they can just train their dogs without using a book or watching a few episodes on TV, but I’m the type of guy who needs some kind of system to follow and ability to reference it later.

    – Mike

  2. Linda on December 1st, 2008

    After reading this review it sounds like you didn’t try the product. I have been looking at possibly getting this product but would like to hear from a reliable source. Did you try the collar on yourself to see what it does? I’m just very disappointed in what you had to say. How can you review a product without even trying it out? If you tried it could you please add more as far as if it works or not.

    Thanks

  3. admin on December 1st, 2008

    Hi Linda. Yes, I didn’t actually “Try” the product as I thought it wasn’t very good product and decided to return it. I tried the Secrets to Dog Training instead. I’ve had good success with it and it costs a lot less.

  4. Kerry Antley on February 2nd, 2009

    The Perfect Dog TV infomercial offer free fetch ball if ordered in twenty minutes. Order taker refused said to call back next day. Did so, rude supervisor basically told me I didn’t know what I was talking about. Not good PR. If the system is as bad when I get it as your Public Relations people are, I’ll be returning it !!!!!

  5. Jill on February 7th, 2009

    theperfectdog.com system is very controversial. From what I read most people who tried it, seem to either not like the approach or find it backfires over time through displaying of agression.

  6. David Goldman on March 23rd, 2009

    Most people think they can just wing it when it comes to dog training. A good dog training manual is a must I think. You wouldn’t teach psychology just cause you know how to talk to other people. You study and learn how the mind works. Well, its the same thing for dogs. It takes a while to come up with a system that works for all kinds of situations. I checked out The Secrets to Dog Training e-book you mentioned Paul, it looks like a good one. Thanks for the link.

  7. Richard B. on March 30th, 2009

    In Nov. ’08 we placed an order with Don Sullivan’s Secrets to Training the Perfect Dog ($59.00) and charged it to our debit card. In Dec. we received a call from them stating they would send us a $40 gas card if we would answer their questions about our purchase and whether we were satisfied. My husband answered the questions, but nothing else was discussed other than our order. In Jan. ’09 our bank statement arrived with three (3) separate charges in amount of $19.95 each, which were Wc *homeplay; Wc*budget Savers Mnth; and, Ap9*todaysescapes . We have never used our card for any other purchases ever; therefore, we knew it was from Don Sullivan’s Pet order. We telephoned the customer service rep who stated to us that at the end of our original order, the order-taker “reportedly” asked us for these other orders. WE DID NOT GET ASKED THESE QUESTIONS, NOR WOULD WE HAVE AGREED TO THEM. We have not received the $40 gas card, nor did we agree to these other orders. The representative we talked to (named Tabatha) did provide us with the telephone number of Wc homeplay (1800-475-1942) and Todaysescapes (1800-550-4728), which #’s did not match the numbers on our debit card statement; however, I can assure you I will be making numerous telephone calls and sending out numerous correspondence about this FRAUDULENT SCHEME

  8. ted carter on April 17th, 2009

    We ordered the perfect dog system over the phone and were given many other offers.We accepted the retrieving ball and also a “free 3 month subscription” to 3 different magazines.A number was also given so one could cancel these magazines within the 3 month period.This number goes nowhere except to a national directory.I sent an inquiry to perfect dog about this and received no reply.Doesn’t seem too reputable.

  9. Debby G. on May 28th, 2009

    I have also seen this infomercial,on Don Sullivan’s way of training dogs;(in less than 10 min.) Give me a break! I am a very observant person,and I noticed right away that the training had something to do with the collar, and for me; that was when the RED FLAG came up. Obviously he does not train by using praise. And every person out there that has a dog; knows that (ALL PROFESIONAL) trainers use treats and praise to train any animal. My advice to everyone, is do your research before you buy anything from TV OR THE INTERNET. And about the name “Dog Father” which he calls himself, well we’ve all seen the Movie “The God Father” need I say more?

    PS. I have owned dogs all my life,and for me, it just takes love, praise & patience.

  10. Neil on July 27th, 2009

    I ordered the perfect dog program on 5-27-09. I am not overly impressed with it. Some good techniques, but not enough in-depth information on boundary training and healing. My dogs have responded well, but I feel it is mainly due to the collar, which broke after only 2 months. I called customer support to try to get a new one, and they refused to replace it stating “there is no guarantee on the collar.” They only offered to sell me a new collar for $9. Overall I’m not impressed

  11. Carol on July 28th, 2009

    i AM SO GLAD i HAVE READ THESE REVIEWS. i DID SEE THE COLLAR AND KNEW IT HAD TO BE PART OF THE TRAINING,, I WAS SKEPTICAL ABOUT THE NON TREATS. i HAVE A DOG WHO IS A RUNNER IF OFF THE LEASH. wE HAVE HAD TO RENT APARTMENTS WITH HIM IN MIND AS GOD FORBID HE GETS AWAY, IF ANY RECOMMENDATIONS ABOUT TRAINING WOULD BE NICE. BUT THANK YOU ALL ABOUT THIS DVD,, IF YOU LOOK UP THANE.. THEY SELL MUCH MORE.. I THINK THAT IS THE PROCESSING CENTER,
    THANK YOU ALL FOR THE REVIEWS!!

  12. Louise on August 6th, 2009

    Thanks for all the comments. I, too, was tempted to try theperfectdog system but thought “If it sounds too good to be true, it probably isn’t.”

  13. Gordyn on September 6th, 2009

    Thanks for all the reviews – especially from Richard B. What a nightmare to ask for one particular product then have your credit card and information abused. Also – reading other reviews it looks like you can’t just simply order the product. You’re forced to stay on the phone and listen to many other sales pitches. Is this a company who wants to help animals or their own greed? I was so close to picking up the phone…

  14. Lois Walker on September 27th, 2009

    I ordered The Perfect Dog kit and the first time I put the command collar on my puppy, she managed to get her teeth into the braided part where the leash gets attached and chewed clean through it in no time at all, and also part of the short leash that is supposed to be dragged around the house on the dog. I should have returned it, but never got around to it and now over 30 days has gone by. Should have looked this info up first.

  15. Sarah on November 19th, 2009

    Thank you to all of your helpful comments! I was just about to call in and I NEVER order from infomercials! He had me sold, I decided to see if I would get the same deal online and saw this blog in my search. I am so glad I read this and didn’t make a bad decision.

  16. Mary Jo Pierce on November 27th, 2009

    P.T.Barnum said it best:”there is a sucker born every minute”!

  17. Deloris on December 11th, 2009

    Thanks for everyones input here. I saw the infomercial for the first time. I have 2 new Snorkie pups. they are now 5 months. I ordered Ceasers Way DVD and books off Amazon.com. I have found them useful and very practical. I was puzzled at the collar thing—I think it must be used to zap the dog.(ick)— I agree you have to be a pack leader but smarter than the puppy helps too! So far the pups are learning very well. They chew what we give them to chew(lots of raw hide and toys). Got bitter apple to help with the trying to chew shoes. Yes, I give treats and praise and long walks. It is tough since I work 12M to 8AM but worth the reward for them and me (I have lost 5 pounds!). I looked at the people who were on the info commercial, and told my- self, remember they get paid to do those things. Some of the dogs were great actors also.(I wonder who trained them?). I thought about the phone ordering —burned more than once with that- NO THANKS. Love my new pups. I have had them for 2 months and we are learning about each other and growing together. God Bless all pet lovers! If I can lead a pack (I raised 3 beautiful daughters)—you can too.

  18. Suzanne on December 14th, 2009

    If the collar is such a vital part of the system, why don’t they replace it free of charge. Just watching the infomercial sucks

  19. Kristin on February 1st, 2010

    I had seen the perfect dog infomercial and it sounded great, well shortly after receiving the system and putting it to use the collar broke, it was about 45 days after I received it so not in there 30 day money back guarantee. I contacted the company no money back and no collar. This company is a scam and do not purchase this product it is poor quality.

  20. JODI on February 8th, 2010

    thanks to all who were honest about the perfect dog collar and video. just was going to plunk my $60 to order, now i wont waste my money.

  21. Kim on March 12th, 2010

    I am so glad I checked out this site before purchasing the set and collar, I don’t have $60 to throw away, so I appreciate all the review’s and will save my money.
    Thanks to everyon

  22. Leon Allred on March 19th, 2010

    Thanks to all for the honesty. I, too, was already to plunk down my money (which I cannot afford). I will probably try the Secrets to Dog Training.

  23. patrick on March 26th, 2010

    Thanks for the reviews. Very sad to hear its not at all like what was promised. Saved me from wasting 60 dollars

  24. Elizabeth on April 16th, 2010

    I so wanted some help for training my dog. Most dog trainers are so expensive! It would cost me almost $800 to train my dog the way I want him trained. I need help with my Germen sheperd puppy before its to late! I saw this product and thought that could work! Thank you I can not afford to waste money I already have 4 children and a dog to feed. I have yet to see any good reviews on this thing!

  25. pia on April 16th, 2010

    I am glad I went thru these blogs before I decided to spend my $60. I think I will try the dog training secret formula instead. And yes, it does recom lots of treats and praises.

  26. Liz on May 22nd, 2010

    Thanks for all the reviews. I too was about to order even though I thought it sounded too good to be true. I am sorry for all the people who were scammed by this product, but thankful for their honesty and reviews helping others not to be scammed.

  27. jstory on May 23rd, 2010

    I think it is reprehensible that this company suggest that you can allow your dog off leash in public, as is advertised on television. There are leash laws for a reason!!! I don’t care if the system works. As someone walking my dog on leash, I do NOT know your dog, nor his behavior, and do not feel comfortable walking my animal or my children anywhere near an off leash dog!!!!!!!!!!!! It is rediculous that this company pose as one that worries about the behavior of a pet and states the pet should be well mannered and yet they support human behavior that is ill mannered!! Before you allow your dog off leash, think not only of the safety of your animal, but of the possibility you are making people arouond you nervous. This company needs to reevaluate its position. I know that I will not buy a product from them.

  28. john on May 24th, 2010

    As soon as i received the collar i could tell it was of very poor quality. Cheap plastic! I, loke many others, did not realize there was a 30 day money back guarantee. When i called customer service and explained the product broke as soon as I used it, she politely told me I was out of luck. They must get these calls all the time because I told her the collar wa sfaulty and all she politely said was “yes sir I understand, but there is nothing we can do” terrible. Stay waay

  29. Karlie on June 10th, 2010

    I thought this was too good to be true. I have been reading the blogs and take some offense to Jstory.
    I often walk my dog off leash, as do many of my neighbors. I know that if I see someone walking their dog off leash that dog is a friendly, well behaved dog, otherwise why would it be off leash.
    Most people who have dogs that are not well behaved don’t let them off. You must not go to dog parks? I go there because I have a dog that gets along with every dog, and person. I hate going to the pet store, and you see someone that picks up their dog immediately when I come near with my dog. Why would I bring a dangerous dog anywhere near you? Why do people bring their dogs somewhere like a pet store, and then get frightened when another dog comes near? Come on!

  30. Debbie Lundrigan on June 26th, 2010

    Thank you for this Review-the commercial really touches our desire to have a loving respectful relationship with our dogs. And the thought of being able to get your dog trained with minimal effort is attractive. After having read your reviews though, I realize that nothing comes without a price, and my dog is worth the time and energy it takes to get me trained properly.

  31. DAN on June 26th, 2010

    I too was ready to crap shoot the $60.00. Found this blog – the first went to google and advise of problems associated with the site. Thank goodness for google. After reading the blogs, I recall my son when he was 14 went to a dog training class for his puppy – a yellow lab. The class instructor used the “short” leash concept where the dog thinks he is on the leash. My wife and I attended the class also but it has been over 12 years. Now my son has a 1 1/2 year old St. Bernard – it is all I can do to hold him. My wife still recalls the “short” leash concept and controls him better than me. Thanks for the input your blogs have saved me $60.00 and possibly many hours of dealing with refunds and cancelling credit card transactions. One suggestion is to use a credit card from a bank that is not tied to your personal checking account. That way they cannot dip into your account (such as with a debit card). If your credit is not where you can get a credit card then open an account at another bank for a $100.00 or so and use it for orders. Thanks

  32. donna rehmel on June 29th, 2010

    I just ordered this thing and wanted to cancel it. Just hours later. They tell me I have to wait 24-48 hrs I am sure they will say it shipped now by that time.
    I have called the bank and they said they can dispute it once it has posted to my account.
    I knew it was too good sounding and could not be true. I almost cancelled while talking with them because all the crap they were trying to push with it. It is just not right what they do!

  33. Christina on July 7th, 2010

    I ordered this because I was desperate. My dog has excitement issues that I have not been able to stop, no matter what was tried. When we opened the box and looked at the collar, we put it right back into the box and we will be sendint it back. This is a plastic prong collar!!! I feel like I was deceived. The collar is only shown horizontally, if I had seen the vertical picture, I would have never ordered this torture device. I will be getting hold of the Better Business Bureau to complain about the false advertising. Prong collars can be dangerous in the wrong hands.

  34. Michael on August 1st, 2010

    Thank you all for sharing your experiences and thoughts about this product. I almost ordered it.
    I was suspicious about the collar, since nothing in the infomercial addressed how it was used.
    Thanks again.

  35. Sherlena on August 13th, 2010

    I have 8dog .7of them are not mind me. 3dog like to jump the fence.Theynot come intell late. I get tire chase them down.And they not come when you call them. The other dog are puppys. Can you help with them they need lots of training I need to know what is involved in this trainings. please get back to me soon. thank you.

  36. colleen on October 9th, 2010

    Thank God i did some research (here) on this product before plunking down $60.00 . The commercial was so believable, but because of other disappointments with other products,i’ve promised myself not to pick up the phone and order right away, but to check reviews online.
    This looks like a really inferior product and is also not the kind of training i want to use for my dog. Thank you ALL for taking the time to report your experiences.

  37. Romeo Santiago on October 16th, 2010

    These are good reviews. The commercial is misleading. I’m glad I didn’t spend the $60.00. The collar looked very cheap on television. Finding out that the training leash is made out of plastic is disappointing. Thank you previous purchasers!!!

  38. john s rose on October 31st, 2010

    wow I’m glad I read this first. I believe the same collar system is available at petsmart without involving high pressure sales reps. Maybe that’s the answer.

  39. Laura on November 17th, 2010

    I saw the infomercial and was excited that I could finally get something for my naughty 7 month old golden retriever. I placed the order and said no to the 10 different offers that she had to offer (after I finally told her I was not interested in anything else she stopped offereing). I received the kit about a week and a half later. Watched the dvds and put the collar on my dog. At first she did not like it which I can understand since even when you are not pulling on it it still pinches. I did not start training her until a couple days later, I wanted her to get used to the collar.
    While training her (doing exactly what the dvd said) she did not retain any of what i was telling her and she was more focused on the “leash” then on learning. Even the collar did not stop her from pulling and disobeying. Yesterday we tied her up since we were having company over and she jumps all over them. She still had the collar on and I didn’t think it would be a problem. After 2 hours of being tied up we looked out the window and she was running around without a collar on! I went out to look at what happened and she actually broke the collar!!! the material obviously isn’t that strong to keep her from doing this! after the fact that she pulled it off i looked for the collar and she had destroyed it!
    I called the company since we were still under our guarentee and they agreed to refund me (not the shipping charges that it took to send it to me) but they REFUSED to send me a prepaid label to send in the kit to them. I explained that their materials were defective but she said that i could just send it in to be fixed for free but that’s all. I asked for a manager – she was just as rude as the first person. they would not give me a prepaid label and refused to help me. When I asked to speak to someone else the MANAGER refused to let me saying that there was no one else to speak with and gave me an email address where i could pose my complaint to. I work customer service and it is our goal to plaease the consumers. This was by FAR the WORST I have ever spoken with!!!!! do not buy from this company they are out to cheat and steal.

  40. Diane on December 19th, 2010

    I too was tempted to buy the Don Sullivan deal, but thought I would check it out first on the web. Thanks to all for the input.
    I have trained successfully my Old English Sheepdogs, but I have one that was a rescue dog. She knows all the commands, but choses to obey them only when she wants to. I am at my wit’s end. I looked at Secrets to Dog Training, but after listening to a long bunch of testimonials, I signed up for the FREE daily emails, and was immediately directed to a site that wanted money. I have spent way too much money trying to train this dog. I love her with all my heart, but she is the only dog I have ever had that refuses to “play the game”. Anyway, I agree…usually all it takes is love, patience and consistancy. This little girl has proven me wrong on that!

  41. Edgar on December 30th, 2010

    I am so thankful I found all these reviews. I was not impressed with the commercial, so did not “Fall” for the pitch. I, too, believe that training requires patience, kindness, love, praise and treats.

  42. linda on January 2nd, 2011

    Wish I had found this before I called 20 min ago. After ordering just the dvd’s, had to say NO to numerous other offers, I was told the total of my order of 2 payments of $29.99 was $75 The lady could bearly speak english and was obviously reading everything. When I asked why $75, I could not understand her and told her to cancel everything. I am sure I have not heard the end of this yet. Please read before ordering.

  43. Renee on January 14th, 2011

    I almost bought this too. My husband and I watched the infomercial and were curious about it. Something about it didn’t seem right though. Don doesn’t look like a “friendly” person and they only show one quick view of him holding the collar vertically. I told my husband that I was going to look up consumer reviews before I called. Boy am I glad I did! What crooks!!

  44. k3n on January 16th, 2011

    Sounds like you’re supposed to go medieval with the collar. Any profile or underside pictures of the collar available to share with my associates to persuade them to forget it?

  45. Anna Lou Newcomb on January 16th, 2011

    Just saw the infomercial and thought it sounded great.
    Needless to say, I won’t be placing an order!
    Thanks for sharing and creating this most helpful blog.
    I’ve been stung in the past and can’t thank you enough for saving me at least $60, not to mention multiple headaches!

  46. Dalia on January 19th, 2011

    They almost had me fooled too, until I saw the collar, like many of you. I understood what it was meant to do and I was appalled.
    If it is too good to be true, it isn’t !

  47. Myboscobear@juno.com on January 24th, 2011

    I just saw this commercial for the first time on TV. I thought it was wonderful and went to get my credit card, however then I realized that I did not have it because of fraud. MY bank called me last week about someone ordering $200.00 worth of makeup on my card. So we agreed to cancel it. This caused me to start thinking about this advertisement, that sounded so great. So I Googled it and saw all your reviews. I want to thank you all very much for saving me the money and time. I wish there was some way to enforce TRUTH IN ADVERTISING better. But thanks to the use of this site you saved me from a big mistake. I am sorry for those of you that got stuck.

  48. Vickie on February 10th, 2011

    I saw the informercial for Dons “system” tonight – I’m a professional dog trainer with 22 years experience & have had clients over the past couple years tell me about buying this system & how the collars broke, one w/a very submissive rescue dog ordered it because he pulled on the leash – after a few min on the collar, she said he wouldn’t move and looked miserable. Words like ‘scam’ and ‘taken’ – it comes down to one thing – there are no miracle fixes – NONE! Your dog needs patience, praise, and practice and it takes time…about 30 min (split into 2 sessions) each day for about 8 weeks. If you put in the time – you will reap the reward. The biggest problem I see as a trainer – honestly – is people getting breeds of dogs that don’t match their life style. Instead of researching a breed thoroughly – Going to shows and talking to breeders (while they love their breed a goid breeder will tell you all of the cons as well as the pros) and be sure – before you go leap into a breed for it’s looks, or because you know someone who gas a cool one. There are exceptions to every breed. Dogs are living things, not accessories you can dispose of in a blink without distressing them. Lots of mentions about pricey trainers on here. I don’t know where you’ve checked – but the majority of trainers I know offer group obedience classes for less than 150.00 for 8 weeks. That will usually get you through the basics – sit/down/stay/come/leave it/drop it/walk on loose leash…after classes end keep up you home sessions extending ‘stay’ time. Try trick training them…if they know basic obedience, trick training is easy and fun! Just keep up the time after. Check for doggie daycare facilities in your area – many of them have GOOD trainers who conduct classes on their premesis. While my private classes are expensive – only aggressive dogs require them – any others are for owner convenience. Group classes do work – and the distractions teach your dog they need to pay attention to you ;). Good luck w/your pups!

  49. KatIhy on April 3rd, 2011

    I too saw this informercial and seriously considered i train canines for Search and Rescue but we had a poodle with issues donated to the group I thought this might be my “miracle” answer vs a behavioral modifaiction therapist at 125 AN HOUR. Since the informercial kept stressing the collar it dawned on me it had to be a prong. We believe in positive reinforcement and you can be the pack leader without physical punishment. TIme, paitence, praise and socialization tried but true. I won’t be spending my money thanks everyone for the blogs

  50. Lucy on May 9th, 2011

    Thank you so much for all the reviews!
    Was trying to decide if to buy or not ……..you guys made my desicion easier .Will not be buying this horrible product ;)

  51. Nancy Salgado on May 16th, 2011

    !!! Do not order the perfect dog system (the dvd’s dont work!!!!!

    I went on line to order The Perfect Dog training sytem through Thane. This product is a complete disapointment.

    I Ordered this program for my mom & brother for their new dog. Well, they sent me the package with the “Training DVD’s” and guess work they were blank, I contacted Thane again and they sent another set. I called them one more time and the lady told me that if this didn’t work I can send them back. This has been a true disapointment for my mom and brother. I hope they will refund me by a check because I don’t think I trust giving my card information to someone on the phone.

  52. Chenzi on May 17th, 2011

    wow… thank you all soo very much for all the reviews!!!!!!!

  53. wayne aug 2,2011 on August 3rd, 2011

    thanks now i will save $60.00 by not ordering

  54. CAROLYN on September 19th, 2011

    THANKS! I WILL BE SAVING MY MONEY TOO.YES, IT LOOKS GOOD ON THE T.V. AND I WANTED MORE FOR MY DOG. NOW AFTER READING ALL YOUR COMMENTS I AM NOT GOING TO BUY. HOPFULLY THEY WILL COME OUT WITH A BETTER PRODUCT?

  55. Michelle on October 1st, 2011

    I was so tempted. thanks for saving me time and frustration. My Puppy thanks you too !!

  56. Carol on October 9th, 2011

    Just saw the commercial and thought that it was too good to be true. As always, I do my research and I am soooo glad I did. Thanks for your reviews. My 12 wk old mini schnauzer is doing pretty good with treats. I’ll stick with that.

  57. Kelly on October 10th, 2011

    Thanks for the reviews. I too was about to order, though I am really skeptical about infomercials. I always research everything online. I had a rescue Basset Hound in the past I spent over $1000 on and ended up giving back to the group (who found him a home and though he was well behaved b/c their other Basset Hound was a TRUE disaster!) I’ve adopted a rescue puppy and she’s only 10 weeks, but it’s essential I have a well trained dog for the kids. I am super glad I didn’t get taken.

  58. D Behling on November 4th, 2011

    I want to start out by saying that Don Sullivan’s system does work!

    Customer Service at Thane.com has to be the worst customer service around. That being said, the information in the DVDs does work; at least it has for us. The “Command Collar” and the “Training Leashes” are cheap and to replace the collar is going to set you back about $25.00.

    We have had numerous dogs over the past twenty years and have never really been satisfied with the results because our dogs always found something more exciting than the “treat”. After just a day of working Sullivan’s method our ten-month old miniature poodle showed excellent results. Growing up on a farm and exhibiting beef, dairy, sheep, swine, and horses in local, state, regional and national shows, I knew first hand that physical interventions were a useful part of animal training, but was swayed to treat training with our first dog. Living on acreage growing up, we allowed our dogs a lot of freedom and the dogs always stayed near us, moving to city with small lots, lots of laws, we went to the big box pet stores, paid our money, feed a lot of treats, but never had a dog that we could truly trust.

    Now after just a week of using Sullivan’s methods (without the collar because it broke and they won’t replace it unless we pay them $25.00 /- AND they hung up when I asked for a manager) our dog, Declan, waits until he is released to go out the back door or come in the back door. I have had a couple of sessions working on stopping at the curb, whereas he would just run into the street.

    Wait, down, sit are all fairly consistent, stay works while we are visible, but it is getting better. I used my hands to push him into the down or sit positions after giving the command a single time and giving him 2-3 seconds to comply. With our last dogs we would give them a command, tempt them with a treat, but were told by the pet store trainer not to use any force to assist the action, but to wait them out–after a few treats their “sweet (read liver) tooth” was satisfied and they decided that they could wait us out…

    The $60 (plus $15 for shipping and handling and we did NOT pay of expedited shipping, it still arrived in 5 days) was half of what the pet store charges when the recommended treats are included. The results so far have been superior.

  59. Lou on January 13th, 2012

    Wow!! I can’t believe all the people here saying thanks and giving all the kudos for the “great” reviews on this product?! There has only been about two reviews from people that have even attempted to use this system and even they look like half hearted attempts at that! Many have purchased and complained about customer service, but thats about it. Of, Those that received it, most looked at it and didn’t watch the dvd’s or try the system. Even the “22 yr long trainer” is critizing on assumptions… Customer service is usually a separate hired company and often does not reflect the practises of the produt company. People, why don’t you actually try a product before you critique and bash it. Our economy is bad enough, we don’t need people calling places scams etc. and causing more business to go under without real proof. I research everything I do before hand and I ask around and look at finished products of those talking negatively/positivley of things before I make a decision. I did the same with this product. If you actually watch the dvd’s you would find that it is a very humane system that tries to give the dog as much freedom as possible. If you actually do the system consitently then it should work. The commercial mentions 10 minute changes often (to sell it), but it does take work and can take lengnth depending on the behavior and dog and the dvd’s say that. I have my first puppy, a nine week old yellow lab, and decided to go with this system after reading many books and looking at several other systems. So far, I have had excelent results with the program. My only problem is I work nights and my young daughters confuse our pup slightly as they are not able to properly reinforce the training. But that’s not really a system problem. It could be a little less expensive, but I still think it’s an excellent system and can see a huge differnce between dogs trained similary and those that are not. Hope this helps those that want a true review. If the system does not work in the long run I’ll let you know. Otherwise, figure it worked for me and my dog and were living in happy harmony together… Lou-1/14/2012

  60. Behavioral Ecologist on February 8th, 2012

    So I am looking for 2 of these large collars. Would any of you guys who do not like this product be willing to sell me your stuff? I would be happy to buy anything you don’t want.

  61. Linda G. on March 28th, 2012

    I bought this system, got it quickly, and started using it this morning. I have a 6 mo. old lab puppy who has a mind of her own, and I was able to get her to lay down and stay the whole time I was getting ready for work. She tried to get up a few times, but I yanked on the collar, told her “No, down”, etc., and she stayed. Once the learned I meant business, she didn’t get up again until I told her she could. I am excited to finally have the tools I need to train my dog correctly. Using treats didn’t work all the time, because sometimes, you don’t have treats on you when you need them to obey. This system establishes you as the leader of the pack, and that is what they need to learn.. I am excited.

  62. Angel on April 4th, 2012

    I have trained dogs for a lot of years and always try my best to saty up tp daate and methods that are new and have worked for other people. First off every dog is diffrent. One will learn certain commands and behaviors faster than others. Every training guide/system does require consistance! The coolor used i this system is no diffrent than the Kelvin or clair color which you can purchase at a good pet store for aboyt 20.00 dollars. It is a correction color just like a chke color but with the saftey imbedded to prevent to harsh of a correction. There are good training tools available and any tool can turn into a bad tool if the owner does not know how to use it correctly. This system is ok not the best not the worst. You can always modify it a little to your individual comfort zone. Just remeber the bottom line is YOU have to be the leader of your dog, your pack. if you do not establish that role you are forceing your dog to TAKE that role and they do not feel safe as in you protecting and leading them!!

  63. Susan McNeil on July 2nd, 2012

    I ordered THE PERFECT DOG system and thought i was getting everything but i received the 2 DVD’s and the 3 leashes. i watched all of the 1st DVD and most of the 2nd DVD and all i saw was the man just talking which did not help me. I wanted to see some action as to which leash was used for each situation. My dog has always worn a collar and he has no problem with a leash so i do not know what the real short leash is for and if i left it on him he would chew it up. I spent $60.00 to buy this and yes i tried the command collar but i don’t see where that works any more than any other collar. I am disappointed and it is too late for me to return it but all i can say is that there are other programs out there that work probably better and they are cheaper. I had to learn the hard way and i agree that you need to give your dog a treat and praise him for what he does.

  64. lazy trainer on November 11th, 2012

    I was asked to write a review on the Don Sullivan training system. While the training method is quite good although old fashioned, the information presented on the dvds was very confusing. I have a feeling that a beginning dog trainer would be very frustrated as many steps in the sequence training are missing. The collar is not special. It’s a plastic pinch type collar AKA a good dog collar It works okay as long as you don’t have a hard pulling dog. These collars have a tendency to break if a heavy puller jerks on them. The leashes would be better in the dumpster. You will need to wear gloves as they will burn the crap out of your hands. I would recommend that people spend their money on a good local obedience class that has a real trainer and no gimmicks to help you.

  65. vee on April 28th, 2013

    don’t order this. i did, and over 18 days later, no product but account charged, along with other charges i knew, and know nothing about. rip off~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  66. no Treats on July 20th, 2013

    My Husband and I train dogs for a living. W do not recommend you give your dog/dogs treats to train. as this only tell the dog that if I do good I will get a treat after a few time you do not have a treat handy, the dog will go back to it’s negative behavior! Praise and more praise is the key to a successful training… There are no 2 dogs alike, so take a little more time than others start out 5 minutes a day 4 to 5 times a day with 1 simple command for a week before you move on to the next command to many commands will only confuse your dog!

  67. Sarah on January 11th, 2014

    I am watching the infomercial now and was just about to order it when I decided too look it up online. After reading about the poor service and poor quality I am not going to buy it. I have an eleven week golden retriever and he has been trained by using small healthy treats (cut in half) to go potty outside, sit, lay down, come, and stay. So I would say that small treats, repition, patients and “good boy” very frequently help.

  68. cd52463 on April 2nd, 2014

    I was researching this because we have an awful time with our mixed plott hound/golden retriever dogs (almost 2 years old). They have dragged my husband and I down when they get too excited. the collar didn’t look too sturdy on TV and I’m so glad I found this, I will not be spending my money on this junk. Thanks for all who commented after trying this product!

  69. Jo on April 27th, 2014

    I’m so glad I read these reviews. I was tempted to order the Don Sullivan training system and after reading that the collar has spikes inside it I have surely changed my mind. I don’t want a to torture my puppy into obedience. I think I’ll be going to puppy training class instead.

  70. Johnelle on July 20th, 2014

    Wish I would have looked this up first. I literally just placed the order for ‘the perfect dog’ system! I have a 9yr old husky-malamute mix and had her since 2months… she was easy as pie to train. I recently got a 3month girl 100% malamute. She is so stubborn and chews everything. Malamutes are definitely working dogs… she tries to pull EVERYTHING along with her. She is growing so fast too. Within 6 months she will weight more than me and be taking me on walks! I ordered this ‘perfect dog’ thing but I should have seen these posts first. I guess as soon as I get it, I might as well return it so I can get my money back. I was skeptical about the collar too. Ugh, it’s back to training the old fashioned way with treats, praise, & tons of time commitment. Thanks.