Pet Zoom Nail Groom Review

November 14th, 2008 by Paul Johnson

The Pet Zoom Nail Groom just recently started advertising on T.V. You can only buy the Pet Zoom Nail Groom through their website at Petzoomnailgroom.com. Pet Zoom also has other pet grooming products on the market. The Pet Zoom Nail Groom is supposed to gently and painlessly file down a dog and cat’s nails. I purchased one to see how well it works.

The Pet Zoom Nail Groom appears to be a direct competitor to another nail grooming product advertised in T.V that I bought in the same price range called the PediPaws. You can read my previous PediPaws Review. Like the Pedipaws, I found it wasn’t really adequate. You really get what you pay for only 20 dollars, which is a underpowered engine. When trimming a large dog it is difficult to cut the dogs nails. I didn’t try it on a smaller dog breed, but I don’t think it would do that well with a smaller dog either. They give you their Pet Zoom comb and cut as a bonus for free, but if you are looking for a serious dog nail trimmer that’s built to last, you should instead get the Dremel or Peticure.

You can purchase the Pet Zoom Nail Groom at EntirelyPets.com at a cheaper price than if you bought it directly from the manufacturer’s website.

  1. Wilson Brown on November 15th, 2008

    Sir,

    I am still interested in the Nail Groom because I have a very small Chihuahua with tiny nails.

    Does it have replacable battery/s or charger?
    How long did it take from order to delivery?

    Thank you very much,

    Wilson Brown

  2. Brenda Yates on January 2nd, 2009

    I have the Petzoom NailGroom and although it took months to arrive I really like it.I have 2 Dashunds and it is quieter than the pedipaws and they allow me to use it on them.I am now looking for replacment files.If anyone knows where to get them please post.

  3. Gail on January 7th, 2009

    You can get replacement files by calling the 800 number on the web page. For some reason, they don’t offer them on their web page. I ordered both the nail trimmer and replacement blades a few weeks ago and I’m still waiting for them to arrive. I too have 2 Dachshunds and thought this would be great for them. Can’t wait for it to get here since they really hate getting their nails clipped.

  4. charity on January 15th, 2009

    i got this product after weeks of waiting. i must say quite a disappointment!! definately not strong enough for any large dogs nails. i even tried it on my cat and it didn’t have enough strength to work quick enough. you would literally have to leave it on your animals nail forever, which would end up being very hot and still not trimming the nail. NOT WORTH THE MONEY!

  5. Heather on February 28th, 2009

    These nail grinders like zoom groom and pedipaws are a joke. I think you guys might want to try this product the Quickfinder nail clipper.

    Here is where I ordered it from and it works well.

    http://www.k9bargains.com/dog/grooming/quickfindernailclipper10804.htm

  6. bronxer on March 10th, 2009

    I actually ordered a Pet Zoom nail groomer – and it took SIX WEEKS for delivery – my credit card was billed within a few days, but, as per the company representative I spoke to (at least 5 times), the item is shipped out from a factory to a shipping center, then bulk shipped from there.
    In other words, STAY AWAY FROM PET ZOOM. Even if the product is good, the company is NOT.

    I’m now in the process of returning it, unopened. I’ll let you know when and if I ever get refunded.

  7. Doug on May 31st, 2009

    This makes my dog jump back when it touches his paw. Not really able to see if it would trim since dog was not cooperative.

  8. rocky on November 9th, 2009

    My cat is afraid of it. As soon as I put it on him he pulls away in fear. Taking it back to K-Mart.

  9. sonja on January 4th, 2010

    i tried the pedipaw with my two dogs. it works ok on the 12 pound dog but was way too big for my chihuahua. i found the nailzoom at kmart for about $10. it works wonderful on my chi. it works very quickly. i haven’t had any problems that the other posters seem to have. it actually works better and faster on my 12 pound dog than the pedipaw. they were both terrified of getting their nails done, but now, even though they don’t like it much, they will sit and let me do it without much problem. i found it works best if i do the nails every week to 2 weeks. i will stick with this product.

  10. Mk on April 3rd, 2010

    Wish I had read these review’s prior to purchasing this product. Way underpowered for use on a medium/large sized dog.

  11. Marion E. Becker on June 4th, 2011

    I have a small Pomeranian and I use Pet Zoom and it works perfectly. The curved SS file ensures a nice well rounded trim. Works for me and my pooch. This is the best tool I have ever invested in for my Cocoa; and, he tolerates it well. I will stick with this and the SS file is far more effective than sanding disca or emory files. Prior to using this I used my Homedics coarse SS flat grinder; but, this tool is curved and requires half the work. I am sold.

  12. Arlet on November 1st, 2011

    I love this product it works wonderful i do my chihuahua nails when shes a sleep she wont even feel or hear it lol Im just looking for the file replacement please Help!!!!! Does anyone know? How does it opent to replace new file? Thanks alot 🙂